Spin Spin Sugar

I'm everyone – hang your label on me

No longer allowed to be Down With the Sickness

Leave a comment

So most of you have read about the tragic shooting in Colorado this past week at a showing of The Dark Knight Rises.  Some crazy possibly fame crazed, definitely damaged individual stormed a theater full of people just there for a good night at the movies and killed 12 people and shot like what, 70 plus people, total? And some of them were children.

A lot of people have been sitting around throwing their opinion into the ring about what happened and why, but something that’s been creeping up and out into conciousness  is that there were children at a midnight showing of a P-13 movie. And since the world at large can’t make sense of what happened in the shooters mind, they’ve gone over to condemning the parents of those children either injured or killed during this rampage.

My internet rounds in the morning include our company’s paid for show prep. I was outraged and disgusted to see comments from an artist we play crucifying these parents.

You may have heard of Disturbed. You may not know who they are but I am pretty sure you’ve heard them against your will at one point.

David Draiman, the singer of this band had this to say on twitter:

All you parents out there that think it’s OK to take your infants out on the town with you, to a movie theater or otherwise, do the world a favor. Give your children up for adoption to parents who know what it is to be a responsible parent, and sacrifice on behalf of their children. Get a damn babysitter

Followed by:

Maybe we should take infants to nightclubs and restaurants in the late hours of the night as well? Honestly, f— off. This is why only certain people should be allowed the gift of a child. Too many simply aren’t ready for the responsibility

Which is all fine and good. Have an opinion. That’s cool, that’s why we have America. But my opinion is that his opinion has terrifically shitty timing. Like stratispheroically shitty timing. Like the timing is so shitty I’m making up words about it, that kind of shitty. So I took to twitter myself today to mention what I thought.

I think I was actually pretty nice

Imagine my TOTAL surprise when less than half an hour later I got not one but FOUR replies from this guy telling me why I’m wrong.

caps lock is broken, right pal?

Hmph. Okay, where do I start without sounding like a bag of dicks?

David, Let me put it down to you like this: You’re a Libertarian or something, so you believe in free speech. So do I! It’s crazy that we have that in common already! Anyway point is you are absolutely entitled to your opinion. It doesn’t need to change whatever, I just think like you believe these people should be more responsible for their children and the precious gift of children, you should be more responsible for the gift of free speech. I took a much LARGER issue with the sheer insensitivity of your comments because of the timing. The mother of that 6 year old isn’t out of the hospital herself broseph.  The gift of free speech isn’t just being able to say whatever comes into your head, its also being responsible for what you say, who it hurts, who it affects and how it makes you look. Your “truth” doesn’t have to kick someone in the teeth that already feels like like their world is ending. Much like you’re really not supposed to yell FIRE in a movie theater (really I do need to find a better cliche in this instance and I do apologize) you really not supposed to use your free speech and opinions to terrorize people in pain… at least if you’re one of the good guys.

Sometimes Thumper’s mom is right dude, if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.

gosh

That being said Mr  Draiman I really liked your vocals on the Queen of the Damned soundtrack song “Forsaken.”

If we were friends (which by the sheer number of twitter messages this bro sent me, maybe we are now! Squee!) I’d just tell you there is a time and a place for judgement and a handful of days after a huge tragedy isn’t that place. Good luck man, enjoy yelling at insignificant assholes like me on twitter.

*you can follow me and my insignificant ass on twitter here *

Leave a Reply

