Spin Spin Sugar

I'm everyone – hang your label on me

On the day I was born

Leave a comment

At some point everyone asks for their birth story. What happened on the day I was born?

My mom was 18 years old when I was born. At 4ft 10inches tall, I was almost half of her by the time they went to the hospital. I’ve seen the pictures. I want to apologize to my mother every single time I see those pictures because how brutal that must have been to lug me around for 9 months. My mom likes to tell everyone I was an easy birth. I was born cesarean section because back in 1979 they thought people of my mom’s size would be too small to have a natural birth and also because my mom broke or cracked her tailbone when she was younger. So they took my mom to Memorial Hospital in Bakersfield and my mom told me she didn’t even really know she was in labor with me. When they decided it was time (late afternoon) they came to get her and she was watching General Hospital. The nurse wouldn’t let her finish the show and there was only like five minutes left. I hope it wasn’t when Luke and Laura got married because that would just make me rude.

Seriously what planet did this wedding take place on anyway?

In the 70’s when people had c-sections, they were pretty much down for the count and so my mom wasn’t awake when I was born. As a result she didn’t recognize me at first. Actually that was probably the anethesia talking too. Plus everyone was so sure I was going to be a boy that even my crib had a blue card on it already. And my going home outfit was for a boy as well. But I wasn’t a boy. I was a 7lb 11oz 21 inch long baby girl with a crap ton of hair. My mom tells me that the nurses fought over who got to bathe me because I was the only baby with hair that weekend. Also back then they kept you at the hospital much longer.

My dad tells me about lighting off fireworks outside of my mom’s hospital room window and having a cigar. My cousin Michelle tells me about requesting a song for me on the radio, maybe even the station my dad worked at. Michelle is only 10 years older than me but we’ve always been really close. My grandma used to tell me that she decided I was “her” grandbaby when I came home. I was the baby for a long time until Libby came along and I did spend a lot of time with my grandparents growing up so I believe it. Everyone agrees I was a really quiet kid. I think the story of the rat getting in my room is my favorite (We lived in front of a barn for a long time, rats and stuff that’s just part of the gig) I apparently sat in my crib playing with a rat for a long time. It didn’t scare me at all and maybe that’s why it didn’t bite me but that’s the kind of baby I was.

My dad used to work two jobs when I was a little baby. He worked at a dairy in the morning doing things that you do in a dairy. I have a feeling there was cow poop involved and would come home to see me before going to the radio station and he says I would always be awake and happy and doing my Rooster dance in my crib when I’d see him. My hair was ridiculous so I was a little Rooster to my dad. (Hilarious because just as I was writing this paragraph my dad commented on my facebook and called me Rooster. )

Anyway 33 years ago today on a very very very hot day in Bakersfield, California, during one of my mom’s stories (how rude!) I was born. Later that night it was decided I would be named Stephanie after Stephanie Powers on Hart to Hart.

Stephanie Powers

 

Here are some really old pictures of me and my family

Dad and I

 

Rooster!

 

I was a fat kid

 

My parents

Leave a Reply

