Spin Spin Sugar

I'm everyone – hang your label on me

Friends

Leave a comment

I feel like I’ve lost a lot of people over the years. Recently a friend to my Bakersfield tribe passed away and I don’t really feel like I have the right to be sad about it. Al was a good friend to my friends and a good friend to my ex boyfriend Jon and his brother. Al was a good friend to anyone who came into his shop and needed something. Al was a good friend to the Adema kids and for some reason never kicked all the music scene kids out of his shop although we hardly ever bought any jewelry or got a tattoo.

Al went out of his way to say hello to me whenever he saw me, always had a smile for me and supported so many people I loved and downtown Bakersfield where some of my favorite memories took place.

I was so sad to hear about “Naked” Al passing away over the weekend. It’s just a reminder of how fragile our lives are. I was lucky enough to know Al and I am just so sorry to know he’s gone. I hope his tattoo shop stays there forever and I hope whoever is running it realizes how special it is to the various weird individuals who go there to find family and friendship and a place to belong.

 

Leave a Reply

