Spin Spin Sugar

I'm everyone – hang your label on me

17. A song recorded in the 1990s.

2 Comments

Look I used to host an all 90’s show, so sit down and shut up, here it comes:

This song is in regular rotation at my station. One of the best Nirvana songs ever, as far as I’m concerned.

Speaking of Seattle, this is Some Velvet Sidewalk. I love this song because its just a freakin’ mess and so low fi and amazing.

The Gits, “Guilt Within Your Head,” I unfortunately had to hear this song on the Home Alive compilation after Mia  Zapata’s murder. But this is a great song.

Babes in Toyland are another GREAT band from the 90s and I love this song.

Poor Lost Highway, it’s soundtrack was way better than the movie. This is one of my favorite Nine Inch Nails songs. Sue me, I’m a trendy bitch.

Speaking of Nine Inch Nails…

Only one of the biggest deals ever, Nine Inch Nails and Bowie together? Forget it! This is just amazing. (By the way am I the only one who thinks David Bowie looks hotter in this video than Trent?)

Hate all you want, but I loved Pennywise. I also love that I sent them a letter when Jason Thirsk killed himself back in the 90s and Jim wrote me back. A hand written letter, thanking me for taking the time to care and reach out. I am sure they got hundreds if not thousands of letters but they took the time to get back to me. I’ll never forget that. Actually I think I’m going to play this today.

Since I’ve already started down this road, the 90’s wouldn’t exist musically for me without my friend Chris Page… So here are these:

Again, hate away, but this song is my song from high school. It’s funny  we first used the word “emo” back in what 94? 95? We thought these guys and Bad Religion were “emo.” Then again we were that Maximum Rock and Roll crowd.. Whatever. This song is amazing. And the new Face to Face record is actually good from what I’ve heard so far.

Ben Weasel is apparently an asshole. I apparently don’t give a shit because this is one of my favorite songs of all time. Chris’s band used to cover it and it was always for me. Because I’m that girl, I guess. Or I was when I was 15. Who knows. I love this song.

I’m guilty, I love this song.

And finally (mostly because I need to leave for work not because I have run out of great 90’s songs, I could run an entire blog about the songs from that era) this one goes out to my good friend Jens Funke aka Cupcake, who I love for his fantastic sense of humor and his tour of duty with Deadsy….

You see the backpack was a metaphor for vaginas. Or reminded them of vaginas. I don’t know. But this song is ridiculous. And from the 90’s.

Happy Saturday, I gotta go to work.

oh the 90s

2 thoughts on “17. A song recorded in the 1990s.

  1. When flipping over the “Nevermind” cassette (!) to side two, the first song you’d hear is “Territorial Pissings.” I always loved the energy of this song, and on the album it comes right before “Drain You,” which is my favorite Nirvana song of all time.

    I’m so glad you posted the Bowie/Reznor track. It’s a great song and I’d forgotten how much I like it. Remarkable that they captured the anxieties of a globalizing world before the shit really started hitting the fan in the next decade to come.

    I like that you included a Screeching Weasel song ’cause that band’s from Chicago. And I never knew that bout that Stroke 9 song. That’s funny.

Leave a Reply

