Spin Spin Sugar

I'm everyone – hang your label on me

5. A song that transports you to another time and place. Explain.

Leave a comment

Lady Antebellum “Need You Now” transports me to lots of places. Walking the halls at my old job. Driving to the Black Sheep to have lunch with Nicole. Driving home from the Grad at 2am. That sort of thing. This song IS San Luis Obispo and Wild 106 for me. It just IS.

It was a good time. A thing I never expected and yet I’ll compare every radio station experience with it for the rest of my life. I miss that place a lot. Those people. Man… it was a second of perfect.

I’ll never forget it.

The moment though, with this song… I was leaving to move to Chico. I was standing at the 76 station on South Higuera filling up my car to leave at about 1pm on a Sunday.  I swore to God that Jojo had played every single song I loved to eff with me when I was leaving town that day because he was still mad at me about leaving and this song came on.

I got into my car and this song was on still. I got on the 101 and as I passed the exit for Highway 1 I started to really cry. I wanted to pull over. The last time I was there I felt the same way. I wanted to pull over and go back and take my house/life/job back.

This song always makes me think of that moment. Among other things.

another shot of whiskey

Leave a Reply

