Spin Spin Sugar

I'm everyone – hang your label on me

Valentines Day

Leave a comment

hearts
Man I am so not a Valentines Day girl*. Even when I’m not single I just don’t get it. I mean I’m not the girl who is gonna throw a fit because she didn’t get something (as evidenced by MANY of my relationships. I think I worked all day last year.) One year I did get sent flowers at work and it was pretty awesome and amazing because it had never happened before and all the girls at work were jealous. I honestly didn’t believe the delivery guy and thought they were for one of the other three Stephanies I was working with at the time… ha ha.

That being said, I LOVE music.  Yes even seriously SAPPY LOVE SONGS. So I’ll share a few of my favorites in the next few days leading up to Valentines Day.

Did you know MTV banned the  Depeche Mode “In Your Room,” video when it first came out? Something about nudity and bondage and blah blah blah. This is possibly the only video from this album where Dave Gahan doesn’t look like the drug baby he was at the time. It’s fantastic (and hysterically tame considering the whole “BANNED” thing) and this is a great if unconventional love song.

It’s sexy. It’s moody. It’s dark. People in fishnets need love songs too. And the lyrics are delightfully obsessive.

“In Your Room”

In your room
Where time stands still
Or moves at your will
Will you let the morning come soon
Or will you leave me lying here
In your favourite darkness
Your favourite half-light
Your favourite consciousness
Your favourite slave

In your room
Where souls disappear
Only you exist here
Will you lead me to your armchair
Or leave me lying here
Your favourite innocence
Your favourite prize
Your favourite smile
Your favourite slave

I’m hanging on your words
Living on your breath
Feeling with your skin
Will I always be here

In your room
Your burning eyes
Cause flames to arise
Will you let the fire die down soon
Or will I always be here
Your favourite passion
Your favourite game
Your favourite mirror
Your favourite slave

I’m hanging on your words
Living on your breath
Feeling with your skin
Will I always be here

(*This doesn’t mean I wouldn’t take a rad bottle of wine or some pretty flowers, I mean its still winter here I haven’t seen flowers in MONTHS.)

Leave a Reply

